

By: Kayla

There are 8 phases of the moon as the moon travels around the Earth we see different amounts of its lighted half. It takes 29 days for the moon to show all of its phases.

The first phase is the new moon. The moon is between the sun and the Earth. The new moon is in full shadow. We can't see the moon because of the way the Earth is moving. The sun, the moon, and the Earth are all lined up. The next phase is the waxing crescent moon. You begin to see a sliver of the moon. The moon is waxing (getting bigger). It is no longer in between the Earth and sun. The moon is getting smaller. After the crescent moon there is the first quarter moon. The moon is half way around the Earth. The first quarter moon is on the right side, and it looks like a uppercase D. This happens 1 week from the new moon.

The next moon phase is the waxing gibbous moon is almost full. Now the moon we see is moving in to more sunlight. It is getting larger. More than half of the moon is lit. The full moon is full of light, so you can see all of its lighted side. The entire side of the moon is facing the Earth in sunlight. The waning gibbous moon is next. The gibbous moon is waning (getting smaller). Now the cycle is on the left side. Now we see less sunlight and more shadow. Finally it's the last quarter moon. The last quarter moon is three-quarters around the Earth. Last the crescent moon. The moon is growing smaller and smaller, and smaller we call it a waning crescent. The crescent moon is almost all shaded. There are many moon phases, and they are fun to learn about.